, , , ,

Last Friday:

Diane Norcross Thompson, Johnson County Clerk
April 8 at 6:11 PM

WARRENSBURG, MO, — Johnson County Clerk, Diane Thompson announces that the extended candidate filing period for the Presiding Commissioner of the County Commission seat closed at 5 PM on Friday, April 8, 2022. The following individuals are now candidates for Presiding Commissioner, listed in order by the date and time their declarations of candidacy were received. On the Republican Ticket: Kevin (Beagle) Coleman, Troy A. Matthews, Bob Cochran, Tom Krahenbuhl, Aaron J. Brown and Violet J. Corbett. On the Democratic Ticket: John A. Hart and Matt Swope.

Candidate filing reopened on Tuesday, April 5th pursuant to 115.361(4) RSMo due to the withdrawal of Incumbent Densil Allen who had filed on February 22nd but withdrew on March 29th, which was the last day of the regular filing period. Additionally, Brandon Phelps filed as a candidate on the Republican ticket prior to 5:00 PM on March 29th. Phelps withdrew his candidacy on April 6th during the extended filing period.

The last day for candidates and issues to be certified to the August Primary ballot by the Secretary of State and the County Clerk is May 24, 2022 by 5 PM. A legal notice listing candidates for all races will be published immediately thereafter.

What’s going on here?

Six republican candidates for Presiding Commissioner in Johnson County after the incumbent withdrew?