, , , , , , ,


HB 436: loonier than Wayne LaPierre at a press conference (February 5, 2013)

National Firearms Act (NFA)

….Firearms subject to the 1934 Act included shotguns and rifles having barrels less than 18 inches in length, certain firearms described as “any other weapons,” machineguns, and firearm mufflers and silencers….

Uh that would be sawed off shotguns, fully automatic machineguns, and silencers.







1204S.04T          2013


To repeal sections 21.750, 571.030, 571.101, 571.107, 571.117, and 590.010, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof fourteen new sections relating to firearms, with a penalty provision.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of Missouri, as follows:


3. (1) All federal acts, laws, orders, rules, and regulations, whether past, present, or future, which infringe on the people’s right to keep and bear arms as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution and Article I, Section 23 of the Missouri Constitution shall be invalid in this state, shall not be recognized by this state, shall be specifically rejected by this state, and shall be considered null and void and of no effect in this state.

           (2) Such federal acts, laws, orders, rules, and regulations include, but are not limited to:

           (a) The provisions of the federal Gun Control Act of 1934;

           (b) The provisions of the federal Gun Control Act of 1968…


[bold emphasis in original, underline emphasis added]

In the Journal of the Missouri House for May, 8, 2013:


2273 Journal of the House [pdf]

On motion of Representative Funderburk, SCS HCS HB 436, as amended, was truly agreed

to and finally passed by the following vote:

AYES: 116

Allen Anderson Austin Bahr Bernskoetter

Berry Black Brattin Brown Burlison

Cierpiot Conway 10 Conway 104 Cookson Cornejo

Cox Crawford Curtman Davis Diehl

Dohrman Dugger Elmer Engler English

Entlicher Fitzpatrick Fitzwater Flanigan Fowler

Fraker Frame Franklin Frederick Funderburk

Gannon Gatschenberger Gosen Grisamore Guernsey

Haahr Hampton Hansen Harris Hicks

Higdon Hinson Hodges Hoskins Hough

Houghton Hubbard Hurst Johnson Jones 50

Justus Keeney Kelley 127 Koenig Kolkmeyer

Korman Lair Lant Lauer Leara

Love Lynch Marshall Mayfield McCaherty

McGaugh McKenna Messenger Miller Moon

Morris Muntzel Neely Neth Parkinson

Pfautsch Phillips Pike Pogue Redmon

Rehder Reiboldt Remole Rhoads Richardson

Riddle Roorda Ross Rowden Rowland

Scharnhorst Schatz Schieber Schieffer Shull

Shumake Smith 120 Solon Sommer Spencer

Stream Swan Thomson Torpey Walker

White Wieland Wilson Wood Zerr

Mr Speaker

NOES: 038

Anders Barnes Butler Carpenter Colona

Curtis Dunn Ellinger Ellington Englund

Hummel Kirkton Kratky LaFaver May

McCann Beatty McDonald McManus McNeil Meredith

Mitten Montecillo Morgan Newman Nichols

Norr Otto Pace Peters Pierson

Rizzo Runions Schupp Smith 85 Swearingen

Walton Gray Webb Wright



Burns Cross Gardner Haefner Kelly 45

Lichtenegger Mims Molendorp Webber

Representative Diehl declared the bill passed.

Speaker Jones resumed the Chair.


[emphasis added]

Yes, you got that right. A veto proof majority in the Missouri General Assembly voted to nullify federal prohibitions of sawed off shotguns, fully automatic machineguns, and silencers.

Forget seersucker. It looks like scratchy gray wool uniforms are back in vogue. [That sarcastic reference to the last serious nullification disagreement which was settled almost 150 years ago came from someone else on the Internets.]

There’s even more right wingnutty goodness in HB 436:

….6. Any official, agent, or employee of the United States government who enforces or attempts to enforce any of the infringements on the right to keep and bear arms included in subsection 3 of this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor….

[emphasis in original]

Oh, that’ll cost a lot of money to litigate all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court.

It looks like Representative Dean Dohrman (r) has earned his keep.

And Representative Denny Hoskins (r) is running for a leadership position:

Denny Hoskins, CPA

Missouri House of Representatives

District 54

Capitol Report

May 10th, 2013


….I am pleased to officially announce my candidacy for Speaker Pro Tem of the Missouri House of Representatives. As you may, or may not know, Rep. Jason Smith, current Speaker Pro Tem, is running for the vacant Congressional seat in Missouri’s 8th district. I believe I have the experience, character, and conviction needed to fill the position. Speaker Pro Tem is selected by a vote of my House colleagues, many of whom have already expressed their support of my candidacy….


Heh. Service is its own reward.