Missouri Democratic Convention – photos (June 9, 2012)

Missouri Democratic Convention – photos part 2 (June 9, 2012)

Governor Jay Nixon (D) after an introduction by Jackson County Executive and Missouri State Democratic Party Chair Mike Sanders.

Representative Russ Carnahan (D) addressing the convention.

Secretary of State Robin Carnahan (D) speaking with state delegates during a break.


June 9, 2012


Democrats Gather to Elect Remaining Members of the 2012 Missouri National Delegation

Jefferson City, MO. – The Missouri Democratic Party announced today the remaining members of Missouri’s 2012 Democratic National Convention delegation were successfully elected at the Missouri Democratic State Convention.  Hundreds of delegates from all 114 counties cast their vote for Missouri’s National Democratic Convention delegation.

“Today, Missouri Democrats came together in a show of strength and organization.  The State Convention is not only about electing delegates.  It’s also a chance to demonstrate our support for candidates and fellow Democrats in 2012.  The State Convention is a testament to our strength and determination.  This is an important election year for everyone and we are standing together.” said Missouri Democratic Party Chairman Mike Sanders.

At the Lodge of Four Seasons at the Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri State Convention delegates voted to elect the remaining 19 Democratic National Convention delegates, 7 alternates, Democratic National Committee and Standing Committee members to represent the Missouri Delegation at the Democratic National Convention.

The 2012 Democratic National Convention is being held September 3-7, 2012 in Charlotte, North Carolina.



Candidates for at large delegate to the Democratic National Convention in line to address the state delegates who will be voting to elect them.

The timers (right) gave those speaking a warning when their allotted time under the convention rules was about to expire.

Representative Russ Carnahan (D) speaking with state delegates during a break.

Governor Jay Nixon (D) addressing the convention.

The delegates and alternates in the Missouri delegation to the Democratic National Convention:

District Level National Convention Delegates

First Congressional District

Thomas Applebaum

Burton Boxerman

Vernon Betts

David Holmes

Orlando Smith

Mary Elizabeth Dorsey

Carol Stoker

Gwen Reed

Patricia Bynes

Second Congressional District

Tim Ryan

Eric Gerber

Kennard Curtis

Amanda Kelley

Alexis Miller

Rowena Nieroda

Third Congressional District

Jo Ann Karll

Deborah Dubin

Joan Barry

Maureen Fauss

Patrick Burke

Sean Fauss

John Maxwell

Philip Barry

Fourth Congressional District

Paula Willmarth

Yvonne Reeves-Chong

Karen Meador

Manuel Ray Salas-Abarca

Donald Long

Fifth Congressional District

Sarah Starnes

Rubou “Ruby” Alsous

Corinne Michele Newman

Shalonn ‘Kiki” Curls

Scott Taylor

Kelvin Walls

Douglas Coe

Alan Gray, II

Sixth Congressional District

William “Bill” Caldwell

Jeff Wright

Robert “Bob” Saunders

Barbara Womack

Sharon Aring

Theresa Ruiz-Garza

Seventh Congressional District

Jim Hight

Rayman Conrad

Linda Powell-Bossi

Frederick Doss

Matthew Patterson

Eighth Congressional District

Patricia “Pat” Allen

Courtney Elizalde

Emily Parker

Gene Oakley

Jim Scaggs

Ninth Congressional District

Ted Farnen

Matt Tharp

Matthew Ageee

Kristie Hilgedick

Nancy Wilson

Karen Miller

At-Large Democratic National Convention Delegates

First Congressional District

Clement “Clem” Smith

Jane Martha West

LaDonna Applebaum

Second Congressional District

Julio Cesar Castaneda

Laura Castaneda

Third Congressional District

Michael Evans

Shane Cohn

Jean Carnahan

Fourth Congressional District

Clara Ichord

Saundra Schwartz

Fifth Congressional District

Doug Gray

Alicia Bland

Sixth Congressional District

Kieth Querry

Charles F. Myers

Rosalyn Curl

Seventh Congressional District

Carrie Michelle Brauch

Nikki ViSocky

Democratic National Convention Alternates

Dixie Burford- First Congressional District

CT Sharp- Second Congressional District

Kevin O’Malley- Second Congressional District

Gary Otten- Third Congressional District

Ollie Stewart- Third Congressional District

Sallie Hodges- Third Congressional District

Ollie Stewart- Third Congressional District

Pledged Party Leader and Elected Officials (PLEO)

Secretary of State Robin Carnahan

State Treasurer Clint Zweifel

Missouri Attorney General Chris Koster

St. Louis City Mayor Francis Slay

Kansas City Mayor Sylvester James, Jr.

St. Louis County Executive Charlie Dooley

Hazlewood Mayor Matthew Robinson

State Senator Jolie Justus

State Senator Robin Wright-Jones

State Representative Elisa “Gail” McCann Beatty

State Representative Stacey Newman

Committeewoman Hila “Dutch” Newman

Unpledged Party Leaders and Elected Officials (UPLEO)

Governor Jeremiah “Jay” Nixon

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill

Congressman William “Lacy” Clay

Congressman Russ Carnahan

Congressman Emanuel Cleaver, II

Former House Minority Leader Member Dick Gephardt

Jackson County Executive and Missouri Democratic Party Chairman Mike Sanders

St. Louis City Comptroller & Missouri Democratic Party Vice Chairwoman Darlene Green

Kansas City Councilwoman and DNC Member Melba Curls

Seventh Congressional District Vice Chair and DNC Member Doug Brooks

Jackson County Committeewoman and DNC Member Sandra Querry

Lafayette Township Committeeman and DNC Member Bob Levine

St. Louis City Democratic Central Committee
Chairman and DNC At-Large Member Brian Wahby