, ,

We received a White House press release late last night.

President Obama has appointed Missouri Governor Jay Nixon (D) to the Council of Governors, an advisory body required by the 2008 National Defense Authorization Act. The council includes ten governors who are appointed for two year terms.


Office of the Press Secretary



February 4, 2010

President Obama Announces More Key Administration Posts

WASHINGTON – Today, President Barack Obama announced his intent to appoint the following individuals to the Council of Governors.  The Council, created January 11 of this year by Executive Order, will work closely with the Secretary of Defense, the Secretary of Homeland Security, and other defense and national security advisors to exchange views, information and advice on matters of mutual interest pertaining to the National Guard, homeland defense, synchronization and integration of State and Federal military activities in the United States, and civil support activities.  

· Governor James H. Douglas, Co-Chair, Council of Governors

· Governor Chris Gregoire, Co-Chair, Council of Governors

· Governor Janice K. Brewer, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor Luis G. Fortuño, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor Brad Henry, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor Robert F. McDonnell, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor Martin O’Malley, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor Beverly Eaves Perdue, Member, Council of Governors

· Governor M. Michael Rounds, Member, Council of Governors

President Obama said, “I am pleased that these Governors of exceptional experience have agreed to join the Council of Governors.  This bipartisan team strengthens the partnership between our State Governments and the Federal Government when it comes to ensuring our national preparedness and homeland defense.  I look forward to working with them in the years ahead…”

Governor Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon, Appointee for Member, Council of Governors

Jeremiah W. Nixon was elected as Missouri’s 55th governor in 2008. Governor Nixon serves on the National Governors Association Health and Human Services Committee. He is responsible for operating Missouri’s innovative fusion center, the Missouri Information Analysis Center. Governor Nixon has also served four terms as the state attorney general and was first elected Missouri Attorney General in 1992. Governor Nixon received his undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Missouri and after practicing law for several years, he was elected to the Missouri State Senate in 1986…

[emphasis added]

And we knew him when…